Reviews

stable_web

July 2018
Fabulous return visit to one of the best cottages we have stayed in. Weather brilliant too. Great walks. Will be back again!
July 2018
Lovely staying your cottage. Weather was brilliant, beautiful setting – thank you.
June 2018
Superb week. Incredible weather and very comfortable stay at the Stable Yard. Lovely cottage, well beyond our expectations.
June 2018
his was our 1st visit to HHF and won’t be our last. Home from home – a great place for exploring the Lakes. Lots of walking, lovely weather apart from the storm on Thursday! Wont dampen our enthusiasm. Thank you.
May 2018
Thanks for letting us stay at your gorgeous cottage. Weather was amazing and thank you so much for the goodies.
March 2018
Fab stay despite ‘Beast from the East’! Thanks Lesley and team. Look forward to a return visit.
March 2016 – Zoe and Peter
Loved staying here! So cosey and a great place to unwind. Thank you.
July 2016 – Claire and Marco
Our first holiday without the kids for 17 years and what a real gem we found. Cottage just fabulous. Walks and landscape exhilarating.
August 2016 – Martin and Ruth
Our third stay and each one as good as the last! We have had fantastic time.
November 2016 – Megan and Ian
2nd stay even better than first. Fantastic in every way. Can’t wait to return ASAP.
January 2017
What a fabulous cottage, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay – and certain we will return.
June 2014 – Lisa and Rob
Lovely cottage in a wonderful location. Never thought we’d be leaving with a sun tan!
September 2014 – Sue and Gary
This is our 4th visit to High House Farm. That says it all really! Loved the Stable Yard. Thank you.
March 2015 – Amy and Russell
Beautiful cottage, we loved it from the minute we walked in! Much more than we expected, can’t wait to return. Thank you.
October 2013 – Enid & Ken South Cumbria
As always a super break in this super cottage.
September 2013 – Chris & Morris, Suffolk
Fantastic cottage with everything we needed. Location perfect.We enjoyed the horses,dogs chickens and especially the cats. Hope to return.Many thanks for the wine, milk and eggs. Thank you.
August 2013 – Karen & Steve, London
We have had a lovely week. The cottage had everything we needed and was great base for exploring a beautiful place.Thank you.
July 2013 – Heather & Richard, N.Ireland
Very reluctant to go home today! A diamond of a find in every aspect-from the idyllic location to the warm welcome we received from Lesley and her family.Our dogs LOVED it too. We have officially fallen in love with the Lake District!
June 2013 – Martin & Ruth, Bristol
One word – “Perfect” need not say any more. Thanks.
May 2013 – Lilian & Tony Herts
What a little gem! We’ve had a brilliant week. Thanks.
April 2013 – Shiela & Mel,Huddersfield
Cottage is superb, every detail covered,would recommend to anyone.
March 2013 – Sheena & Nigel,Chelternham
Our second visit to High House Farm. Stayed at the Byre last time, both places are first class. Parents-in-law accompanied us this time and loved it too. They were bowled over by the Byre! Snow! Fabulous lakes weekend.
January 2013 – Sabine & Si, Merseyside
Magical Place!
November 2012 – Chris & Loraine, Northumberland
Peaceful Perfection, loved it, will be back.
August 2012 – Paul & Lella, Placena, Italy
Awesome cottage, so many small details that make the difference! Will definitely be back again. BIG THANKS!!!
July 2012 – Lynda & Doug, Durham
A real gem, so glad we came.Fantastic attention to detail. Everything was perfect- even the weather!
May 2012 – Stephen & Liz, London
What a magnificent, peaceful & friendly place. We will return. Such friendly animals too.
May 2012 – Stephen & Isobel, Scotland
First to stay in this perfect cottage! Will be back.

bothy3

August 2018
Our 2nd stay at the Bothy and it still has the wow factor. Thank you so much for everything. Mixed weather but did some great walks. Great place to relax. Will be returning to do some more of our Wainrights!
August 2018
Australia, Our first time to the UK and WOW! What a unique and beautiful place to celebrate our 70th Birthdays. Thank you so much Lesley and kids.
July 2018
Another fantastic week, 2nd year running. This time it was more like the mediteranean lakes as the weather was just perfect. Had lots of good days out walking with our dog and this time we went to Haweswater which is well worth a visit – very interesting.
July 2018
Once again a wonderful week with matching weather. See you soon.
June 2018
A lovely peaceful location. Fantastic views. Great walks, well equipped cottage. Thank you, we look forward to coming again.
June 2018
We are regular visitors to the lakes but this was our first time staying here and it won’t be our last. What a hidden gem! Amazing scenery, beautiful cottage and easy access to all areas. We have had a fantastic week and the most wonderful weather. We very much look forward to returning again soon.
November 2015 – Alan and Carol
What an amazing property! Attention to detail was wonderful and our welcome was warm and friendly. The weather has been interesting but we’ve been tot the Lakes enough to expect that! It was ahoy to stay in this beautiful cosy cottage with the heating on watching the torrential rain drench the fells. We are looking forward to our next visit already.
July 2016 – Chris and Ellie
When we arrived at the Bothy we were taken aback at how comfy yet spacious the place was. With 2 dogs we never felt they were tripping us up. The kitchen was so well appointed and I adored the folder of walks and maps which set us well on our way to achieving our first 5 Wainright’s. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We’ll certainly be recommending to friends and family and hope to be back.
July 2016 – Francis and Claire
Another fantastic week at the farm. We will definitely be back again. It is the best holiday cottage we’ve ever stayed in and we love the walking and cycling here. Thanks Lesley.
August 2016 – Lyn and Stewart
Second visit and can’t wait for 3rd. Excellent cottage and area. Weather fantastic, owner friendly and helpful as were all the animals.
November 2016 – Rachel and Roy
Our 3rd visit to the Bothy and as Roy says it’s just stunning! We’ve been so lucky with the weather. It’s been just perfect seeing the snow on the fells from the cottage, fantastic photo opportunities, amazing sunrises and sunsets. Already booked for our 2 week holiday in September. Can’t wait….
November 2014 – Jan and Clive
Perfect retreat with every home comfort we could ask for. Beautiful scenery literally at the doorstep and location was brilliant for all types of excursions, come rain or shine! Highly recommended.
June 2014 – Matt and Tam
Had great honeymoon! Lovely weather. Best equipped cottage we’ve been to. Thanks – hope to return soon.
January 2015 – Eve and Ian
A really lovely cosy retreat. Weather could have been better, but a super location to start 2015.
December 2014 – Rick & Lyn
Fabulous weekend- your cottage is so well presented and as others suggest, one of the nicest,cosiest home from homes that we have stayed in. Already planning another visit.
November 2014 – Sam & Chris
Perfect retreat with every home comfort we could ask for. Beautiful scenery literally at the doorstep and location was brilliant for all kinds of excursions come rain or shine. Highly recommended to friends and family.
May 2014 – Roger & Alison
Thank you for a wonderful stay in a beautiful Bothy. It is without doubt the best place we have ever stayed in. The Lakes are breathtaking, so lucky to have found a wonderful retreat. We will definitely return.
September 2013
A 5 star cottage in a lovely setting. We wanted for nothing in this wonderful place. Thank you.
September 2013 – Des & Margaret, Durham
What a beautiful cottage! A fab week –  weather kind too. It is so good to be in a cottage of this superb standard that accepts dogs! Thanks for the wine, milk and eggs. Hopefully will see you again xx
August 2013 – Liz & Dave, Dorset
Had another great week in your perfect cottage. Weather was brilliant. Our 3rd visit here, we will be back. Thank you for such a warm welcome. Another fantastic week xx
Sue & Mick, S. Yorks
Fabulous cottage, great location. Interior design perfect and best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in, short of nothing. Nice touch with welcome pack. Great walks and good pubs….. Will recommend the Bothy to everyone. Thank you.
July 2013 – Steve & Laura
Outstanding accommodation, everything you need was provided. Amazing views as soon as you open the door. Perfectly situated for stunning walks right at the doorstep. Already re booked for 2014, can’t wait to come back.
February 2013 – Dan & Claire, Hudds
Thank you sooo much we had a fab honeymoon! And the puppy loved it too! The place is amazing we loved every minute. We will be back xxx
March 2013 – Eric & Jean, Wilts
Snow and sunshine made the Lakes look stunning. Lived our holiday. Lovely to have excellent bath and excellent shower too!
New Year 2013 – Kenneth & Morag, Dumfries And Galloway
A peaceful, relaxing time despite the storms outside! The house was wArm and comfortable – beautifully furnished and decorated. Thank you for the wine in arrival and the delicious eggs.
October 2012 – John & Joyce, Hants
We made the right decision to return. You even arranged a dry week for us! Many thanks. We hope to see you again next year.
July 2012
What more can we say this cottage is the BEST cottage we’ve been to. Thank you.
September 2012 – Sue, E. Yorks
The Bothy is all we imagined and hopes it would be, a real gem, beautifully presented. Already planning our next visit.
ByreReview

July 2018
What a fantastic week we have had in the Byre. Glorious cosy cottage in a perfect location. We have visited some lovely places and would definitely like to come back to these cottages and the area in the future. Weather has been fab although some days too hot for our pooch! Lesley thank you so much for the wine, milk, eggs and fudge – so good we went to the toffee shop to get some more! Will be recommending to our friends and family. Thanks again and see you again soon hopefully.
June 2018
Thank you for everything. We have had a great time at the Byre cottage which was perfect. We’ve been to some lovely places and eaten too much! The Byre is a credit to you. Very cosy, it has everything you need and it has been one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in. Well done you – We will see you again next June. x
May 2018
Perfect! Location, views, comfort and lovely owner. Got to be one of the best cottages we’ve stayed in.
May 2018
The Byre has provided us with a great base for exploring Ullswater and the area. Comfortable and well appointed. The great weather was a bonus. Thank you very much. See you again soon.
August 2015 – Sharon and David
High House Farm came highly recommended by family members who have visited before – we weren’t disappointed! Beautiful, peaceful area and lovely comfortable cottage. So many added little touches – wine, fudge, eggs – thank you. We had a great week and the weather was kind! Best bits – chugging along Ullswater lake on a glorious sunny morning on the steamer, climbing a mountain and the view from the top overlooking Glenridding and the lake. Discovering that the bathroom had underfloor heating – (bliss) and watching a clear starlit sky looking for meteors at midnight – then being joined by a softly purring little figure of the farm cat – magical….. Thank you
October 2015 – Melanie and Rob
Thanks again for such a lovely stay at High House Farm. The weather has been amazing and the Byre is just as beautiful as the Bothy. We very much look forward to coming again soon. Thank you.
February 2015 – Sarah and Mark
Fantastic cottage! Everything here is of high quality. We loved the huge bed and the underfloor heating in the bathroom. We would definitely recommend the property to friends and family. Good walking in the local area. Thank you for wine and eggs. Hope to return again soon.
March 2016 – Charlotte and Carl
We are sorry to leave this lovely, snug little Byre. Yet again a fantastic 7 days of exploration have passed too quickly. Once again thank you for the welcome treats and the warmth and cleanliness on arrival.
January 2017 – Paddy and Rhiannon
Thank you for a fantastic stay in the Byre. We found the accommodation welcoming and all the home comforts we could have hoped for. Our dog has enjoyed the long walks. We would rate the cottage 11/10.
September 2014 – Steph and Steven
Excellent place to stay. Cottage very well equipped and so comfortable. Will be back again to explore this lovely area more fully. There is absolutely nothing missing from this gem of a place.
October 2014 – Peter and Helen
Another cracking stay at a the Byre! Weather hasn’t been brilliant but it didn’t matter.Plenty of nice walks with the dogs and then home to this lovely cottage. Eggs, milk and wine were spot on. Thanks very much, Im sure we’ll be back.
June 2015 – Rob and Stella
A lovely comfortable cottage with everything we could need including fluffy towels. A cold , windy start to a fantastic week of weather. A great place to explore from.
November 2014 – David & June
Third visit this year- Another fantastic week- not bad for November- sun, wind, rain and frost!
October 2014 – Roger & Alison
Another cracking stay in the Byre! Weather hasn’t been brilliant but it hasn’t mattered. Plenty of nice walks with the dogs and then home to this lovely cottage. Eggs milk and wine were spot on. Thanks very much. Im sure we’ll be back.
July 2014 – Marcus & Anette
…wonderful cottage, wonderful walks, nearly wonderful weather. Simply wonderful week. Thanks a lot.
July 2013 – Dan, Lancs
Thank you! Cannot remember having a happier time in this area generally or on a better place. Loved the Byre, everything was excellent.
July 3013 – Audrey, Lancs
We’ve absolutely loved our week here at the Byre! Thank you Lesley, Roberta and Randal for welcoming us and for the gentle friendliness of all your ‘livestock’! It’s so relaxing, sitting in the garden and receiving all our guests. One morning we has the 2 dogs, several chickens, mother and daughter cats, the horses nearby, the swallows busy and a young fledgling on the roof holdings onto a dragonfly, perhaps not knowing what to do with eleven sea next….! Perfect days! Even baked cheese scones for breakfast one morning- they’ve never tasted better- must have been Randals eggs!
July 3013 – Marian & Alastair, Kelso
This is the best cottage we’ve ever stayed in! Absolutely beautiful, we’re regular visitors to the Lakes but have never explored this area. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Thank you for the lovely wine and eggs. We hope to return again soon.
May 2013 – Peter& Helen, E.Yorks
Wow! What a gorgeous cottage! Very much enjoyed our stay thank you very much. Was lovely to come back to such a warm, cosy, well equipped spot on such a fabulous location. Had some great walks in Whinlatter, Buttermere, to Aira Force to name a few. Will be back again soon! Thank you.
May 2013 – Alison& Matt & Baxter
Perfect! With a proposal I wasn’t expecting- I said yes!
March 2013 – Tim & Danielle, S.Cheshire
First time here for both of us and what an experience! Cottage was lovely, blew expectations! Ideal location. On arrival very warm welcome from friendly dogs. Would recommend High House Farm to friends and family, couldn’t wish for more. Thanks for making my 21st birthday present such a fantastic gift. You will definitely be seeing us again.
August 2012 – William & Irene & Skelp
We could repeat everything that has been said and more. We usually stay outside Keswick when we visit the Lakes and thought we couldn’t find anywhere better. Our daughter and son in law gave us a week here for our Ruby Wedding. How wrong could I be. We have had a great holiday here with all the varied walks we have done – thanks to all the literature provided. Every step you take gives you the most fantastic views. We will certainly be back – couldn’t find any better place to stay. We loved all the animals welcoming when you return and thank you wine, milk and eggs, taking some eggs home with us as we know they are definitely ‘free range’!
August 2012 – Ian & Sara, Berkshire
We had a very enjoyable holiday. The scenery is outstanding and we have mostly spent our week around the Lake or in it! Also have walked to Aira Force via the path up the lane from here, across the fells……
July 2010 – Kristan & Christian, Cheshire
What a fantastic holiday. We got engaged! The Byre made it all the more romantic and relaxing. Many fells walked …… We will be back again.
December 2010 – Nick & Kate, Scotland
Thank you for a fantastic stay. The cottage was a great retreat after a hectic Christmas holiday. The location was perfect for long walks and exploring! We will be back!!!
November 2009 – Sian & Simon, Emily & Deisel.Southhampton
Thanks for a wonderful stay. The cottage is fantastic, a real find! It was just what we needed and so well equipped that we really couldn’t have asked for anything more. The underfloor heating was brilliant for those cold mornings. There is so much to do around the area that we always came back tired. We absolutely recommend the Byre to anyone looking foe a lovely place to stay in the Lakes. Oh and thank you for providing the high chair.
October 2009 – Sue & Jim, Kent
The Bure is a magical bolt hole. Absolutely superb conversion and talented, well thought out interior design. We’ve enjoyed brilliant fell walking and then come back tired, knowing that there is a comfy bed waiting! Will certainly tell our family and friends. Thank you for a memorable few days,we’ll be back!
hoggest_thumb

September 2018
First time in the Lakes! Weather could have been kinder but what a wonderful cottage to stay in. Beautiful, comfortable and so quiet. Just the place to recharge our batteries. Thank you x
August 2018
Another brilliant in this beautiful comfy cottage. Have walked for miles through the stunning scenery of the Lake District. Really enjoy the walk to Aira Force which we haven’t done for a few years. Already booked for next year! Thanks Lesley for the lovely welcome gifts which we thoroughly enjoyed. See you next year in the Bothy in May and the Hoggest in August.
August 2018
Australia Everything about this place is simply stunning! Thank you Lesley xx
June 2018
Alsolutely fabulous – already booked again for next year!
June 2018
4th time here – fantastic time again. We will be back. Thanks for everything.
May 2015 – Suffolk
First guests. Excellent stay – Hoggest is amazing!
June 2015 – Mark and Sharon
Great cottage. Wonderful holiday.
June 2015 – Mike and Claire
Excellent as always. Coming back!
August 2015 – The Nathans
We shall miss the beautiful views and the friendly animals. The footpath near the church leading to Aira Force is fantastic and the footpath at the top of the hill – highly recommended. Thank you for such a comfortable, cosy and well equipped cottage.
August 2016 – Mike and Jan
Wonderful to come to a comfortable, clean and nicely furnished cottage with the dogs! So often dog owners are named as wanting “lesser” accommodation, so thank you. Thanks for the goodies. We will be back.
October 2016 – Fiona and Dave
Lovely cosy cottage, had a fabulous week, great weather, cottage is in a good area with easy access to some super walks. Many thanks.
February 2017 – Jackie and Andy
Great week, lovely cottage. Everything you need. Thank you.
HeftReview

August 2018
This is the 2nd time at HHF, had great time and will be back next year. We love this place.
July 2018
Our happy accident! What a lovely find and gorgeous place to stay – we shall return. Look out for the barn owl across the field. Thank you x
July 2018
We had a wonderful, comfortable stay. Lovely cottage. Nice and quiet – out of the way. A great week and great weather too!
July 2018
What a find! This is the first time we’ve stayed in Lesley’’s cottages and it won’t be the last. The cottages are of a high standard and prove everything you need. Perfect location and perfect weather to match! Thank you x
June 2018
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Lesley’s cottages and the 3rd time we’ve been blown away by the standard the accommodation. By far and away the best place to stay in the Lake District – a proper gem! We will keep on coming back. Thank you!